Skip to content

5/5/22 UIUC Policy Committee Summary

    Present: Bettina Francis, Richard Laugesen, Walter McMahon, Cary Nelson, David O’Brien, Robert Parker, Bruce Rosenstock, Leslie Struble, Carol Tiley, H. F. Williamson.

    The meeting began at about 12:35 p.m. with Parker presiding.

    1. Introductions. Introductions were not needed.
    2. Review of the Minutes for April 7, 2022 Meeting of Policy Committee. The minutes were approved.
    3. President’s Report. Parker reviewed his May 2, 2022 report to the Committee.
      1. Annual Promotion and Tenure Workshop. He reported on the steps taken following Hilton’s death to finish the preparations for the workshop and how well it had gone. There will be a need for someone to take Hilton’s place for arranging next year’s Workshop. This will start during the fall semester.
      2. Need to Grow Chapter. He emphasized the need to recruit new members for the Chapter and to consider individuals we might invite to join the Policy Committee. This could include contacting those whom Laugesen met at the new Faculty Orientation and those who attended the Promotion and Tenure Workshop. It could also include presentations at College level faculty meetings.
      3. Communication with Campus Colleagues. He is continuing his dialogue with leaders of the Campus Faculty Association. He also reported that Amanda Bales, incoming President of the Non- Tenure Faculty Coalition (NTFC), had contacted him to discuss coordinating the activities of our two organizations.
    4. Approval of Proposed Schedule of Fall Meetings: The proposed schedule of Policy Committee
      meetings for the Fall semester was approved. We will again meet at 12:30 p.m. on the following dates:
      • Thursday, September 8 (2nd Thursday); instruction begins August 22; Labor Day is Sept. 5.
      • Thursday, October 6 (1st Thursday)
      • Thursday, November 10 (2nd Thursday)
      • Thursday, December 8 (2nd Thursday); Reading Day is also December 9
      • Whether these will be in person or hybrid meetings will be determined as the semester approaches.
    5. Planning for Annual Meeting: Tuesday, May 10, 2022
      1. Program: Professor Matthew W. Finkin will speak on “Faculty Freedom Today”
      2. Report from Nominating Committee: The candidates will be the current officers: President: Robert Parker; Vice President: Richard Laugesen; Secretary-Treasurer: H. F. Williamson
      3. Publicity: Publicity included email messages to the Chapter members and an article in Eweek
    6. Planning for Programming for 2022-2023. There was a brief discussion of possible programs for the fall semester.
    7. Adjournment. There being no reports, the meeting adjourned at about 1:30 p.m. As noted above, the first meeting of the fall semester will be 12:30 p.m. on September 8, 2022.