Skip to content

1/18/17 Policy Committee Minutes

    Present:  Hadi Esfahani, Bettina Francis, Harry Hilton, Lewis Hopkins, Richard Laugesen, David O’Brien, John Prussing, Donald Uchtmann, H. F. Williamson

    The meeting began at about 12:05 p.m. with Harry Hilton presiding.

    1. Introductions.
    2. Review of the Minutes for December 7, 2016 Meeting of Policy Committee.  The minutes were approved.

    Discussion Items

    1. President’s ReportHilton reviewed the key topics in his report, some of which are covered elsewhere in the minutes.He noted that the revisions in the Statutes regarding hiring policies have been approved by the three senates and the Senate Council. They were transmitted to the president on December 5, 2016.  He has asked the President’s office to notify him when they are sent to Board of Trustees.  Parker had notified him of actions taken at the state level to outlaw tenure such as legislation introduced in Iowa and Missouri.  He has asked Parker to lead the Chapter’s efforts to monitor current and possible future legislative efforts to attack tenure and other aspects of academic freedom and he has graciously agreed to do so.
    2. Review of schedule of meetings for spring semester.
      1. Regular Meetings of Policy Committee: Noon:   February 15; March 15; April 5; and April 26
      2. Special Meeting for voting members of the Policy Committee with Chancellor Jones and Provost Feser:  11 a.m., Monday, January 23 in 213 Illini Union.
      3. Promotion and Tenure Workshop: 3:30 p.m., Thursday, April 20, 2017 in 314A Illini Union
      4. Annual Meeting:  3:30 p.m., Tuesday, May 9, 2017; 104 Illini Union

    Action Items

    1. Preparation for meetings with Chancellor Jones and Provost Feser on January 23.  A final version of the agenda for the meeting was approved.  A copy will be sent to the Policy Committee for their reference.
    2. Planning for the Spring Tenure Workshop.  Hilton will continue working the Provost’s office to see who will be attending from there.  He is arranging the two additional panelists.
    3. Selection of Nominating Committee.  Hilton has chosen a nominating committee of Prussing (Chair), Parker, and Williamson.  The Chapter membership will be informed of this decision.  [NOTE:  As detailed in Section VII of the Chapter Bylaws, the next steps will be (a) to inform the membership of the makeup of the committee; (b) provide a list of nominees to the membership at least four weeks prior to the annual meeting; (c) inform them that additional candidates may be nominated up to two weeks prior to the meeting; and sending out the final slate if different from the original one at least one week prior to the meeting.]
    4. Planning for the Annual Meeting.  One possible topic for the presentation at the Annual Meeting would be a review of the attacks on tenure and academic freedom that are occurring in a number of states.  In this regard, Uchtmann noted the importance of not losing sight of the major items of importance to academe such as these attacks.  He and O’Brien noted that in the past, the AAUP has played a key role in efforts to address these issues and hope that this effectiveness will continue in the future. 
    5. Shared governance questionnaire: The questionnaire prepared by our Shared Governance Ad-Hoc Committee has been sent to the Provost who in turn sent it to Senate Executive Committee (SEC). A meeting with Gay Miller, SEC chair, Hilton, and other members of the Policy Committee is pending.  The importance of working with Miller and the Provost’s office was stressed. 
    6. Other AAUP Activities on Campus.  The need to determine the nature of relations between the Chapter and the Non-Tenure Faculty Coalition (NTFC Local #6546) was discussed.  The Coalition is affiliated not only with the AAUP, but also with the AFT and the IFT.  Hilton and O’Brien will look into meeting with the leaders of the Coalition.  They will also check to see if there are similar “dual” AAUP organizations on other campuses.

    As noted above, the meeting next month will be February 15, 2017 in 213 Illini Union.

    The meeting adjourned at about 1:18 p.m.

    Prepared by H. Williamson, Secretary