Biographical Sketch

Professor Donald L. Uchtmann

Donald Uchtmann is a Professor Emeritus of Agricultural Law in the Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics.  His research interests include agricultural leasing and legal issues related to agricultural biotechnology.  He taught agricultural law and rural taxation, and continues to support the extension and outreach program in agricultural law. He has authored numerous legal articles and coauthored a textbook on agricultural law.

He served as President of the American Agricultural Law Association and has chaired the Agricultural Law Section of the Ill. State Bar Association.

Uchtmann has served in many faculty governance roles. These include Vice-Chair of what is now the , UIUC Senate Executive Committee (1986-1988, 1997-99); Chair, Senate ad hoc Committee to Formulate UIUC Post-Tenure Review Policy (1998-99); Chair, UIUC Senate Committee on Committees (in 1980s); Chair, UIUC Senate Committee on Student Discipline (1979-80, 1980-81); and Member, University Senates Conference (1998-2001, Executive Committee 2000-01). Within the UIUC Chapter of AAUP, he served as President from June 2006 through May 2009 and continues to serve on the Chapter Policy Committee.

From 1987 – 1996, Professor Uchtmann served in several university administrative roles, including interim head of his department and Associate Dean of the College and Director of what is now University of Illinois Extension. He has presented legal papers, conducted research, or served as a consultant in many countries, including Brazil, Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, The Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Kazakhstan, China, Japan, and Laos.

Professor Uchtmann obtained his B.S. in agricultural science (honors) from the U. of Illinois, his M.A. in economic development from the U. of Leeds, England, and his J.D. (cum laude) from The Cleveland State U. Recognitions include the College Young Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching (1986); the American Agricultural Economics Association’s Distinguished Extension Program Award-Group (2002); the C-FAR Holt Achievement Award (2004); and the College Team Award for Excellence (2004) – the latter three being Group Recognitions shared with his farmdoc ( colleagues.